This film showcased the culture of marketing and advertising, and all that persuaders are doing now to gain knowledge on niche aspects of consumerism, targeting civilians in specific ways that they hope will influence them. This film honestly changed the ways in which I view ads and targeted advertisements, especially now, in an era where we can be having a conversation with someone, and an add will pop up three minutes later showcasing the very thing I had just mentioned. Marketing and advertising really condition us in ways we aren’t even cognizant of. A method I noticed here was definitely data mining, and also customer observation and individual niche observation. It’s also interesting to think about how resistant we have become (civilians) to advertisements, while also simultaneously being somewhat conditioned by them. When I see an ad, I am inclined to skip it, if that’s an option. But sometimes, the ads I get seem so targeted. Too targeted even. This video showed me that none of that is random at all, rather, it’s purely intentional. Specific product placement is another element I noticed at play in this movie but also in everyday life. It’s terrifying to think that the data I produce from using my electronics or even the ways in which its possible to be surveyed these days, can tell a complete stranger what my interests are and how to efficiently target ads in my direction. I didn’t expect these methods to be so concrete, and I never really considered before that there were people whose jobs it is to learn about people and target advertisements their way.